Make Barnsley Chronicle My Home Page Close
Share this story

Super Swaine lift league title

Monday 3rd September 2012
Hoylandswaine player Joe Sayers.

Hoylandswaine 1st XI have won the Premiership for the first time in the club’s history.


The triumph was made even sweeter as they overcame previous title holders Honley in a thrilling encounter on Sunday.


Batting first, Honley clocked up 225 for six from their allocated overs. The pick of the Swaine attack was Amar Rashid who claimed four for 71.In response, Swaine made hard work of the target and lacked a big scorer.


But Joe Sayers (50), Rashid (36) and Alex Morris (35) all made useful contributions, as did Liam Dickinson (35) and Ben Potter (27) as Hoylandswaine reached the runs for the loss of seven wickets to clinch a historic championship.


With just two games in the season remaining, Swaine are 16 points clear at the top and can’t be caught.


Elsewhere, in the Pontefract League, a huge partnership between Andy Wood and Nick Hunter then Harry Moore’s superb spell  of bowling gave Darton 1st XI a brilliant 95-run win at Allerton Bywater in Division Three.


Wood (75) and Hunter (57) scored all but 23 of Darton’s runs as they made 155 for seven batting first. Allerton were then dismissed for just 60 as the impressive Moore claimed four for ten.


In the South Yorkshire League, Darfield kept their survival hopes alive and set up a thrilling finale to the Premier League relegation battle with a win at Houghton Main.


The victory moved Darfield within three points of Houghton, who are hovering just above the drop zone, with two games to go.


Houghton batted first and limped to 29 for three but a stand of 73 between captain Ian Simon – who top-scored with a 54 that included seven fours and two sixes – and Issrar Asif (25) took them to 102 for three.


Darfield then took the last seven wickets for just 15 more runs as Tahir Maqsood and Daniel Owen struck four times each.


In reply, Darfield skipper Peter Hadfield – who hit five fours and two sixes to reach 39 – and Liam Marshall (26) formed an opening stand of 76. Houghton’s Mohammed Ilyas provided some late resistance with four wickets but Darfield reached their target after 24 overs.